top of page

Fri, Nov 24

|

Zoom Meeting

Campfire Chat - Investing in soft skills

We welcome James Low, who will share his journey as a leader and the value of impacting an organization's culture and investing in the people. Show up as you are, get what you need and share what you feel comfortable with! No agenda, no follow-up.

Registration is Closed
See other events
Campfire Chat - Investing in soft skills
Campfire Chat - Investing in soft skills

Time & Location

Nov 24, 2023, 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. MST

Zoom Meeting

Guests

About the event

"The greatest thing you will do in your career is to support people." - James Low.

We have worked with James Low, Executive Director, Quality & Strategy/ Chief Privacy Officer for the Yukon Hospitals for the past three years, and we need him to share his wisdom at a campfire chat...and here he is! 

James is a unique leader in healthcare. Trained as a journalist, he approaches every situation with curiosity, care and learning. The result? In a time when people are struggling in the health sector, James has made great strides. We have been with him for part of his journey and have been honoured to learn from him. 

James Low, BA, MA

For nearly 20 years, James Low’s work in leadership has focused on supporting people and enhancing the public healthcare sector. He holds a BA in Media and Information Studies and a master’s degree in Journalism from Western University in London, Ontario.

He now serves as Executive Director, Quality & Strategy and Chief Privacy Officer for the Yukon Hospital Corporation based in Whitehorse. He works closely with leaders, clinicians, allied professionals and government to advance organizational effectiveness and performance focused on quality and safety. He leads a diverse team that advances quality improvement, risk management, legal support, medical affairs, corporate communications, workplace and patient safety, privacy, and ethics, as well as policy and program development for the territory’s three acute care hospitals. James previously led the hospitals’ Medical Affairs and People Services, Culture (HR and Organizational Development) departments. James’ experience includes spearheading the development of the organization’s 2022-2027 strategic plan and Leading Together leadership development program. He has also supported several significant priorities and change initiatives, including the introduction of a Hospitalist service, the first MRI program in Canada’s North and the construction of a multimillion-dollar expansion to Whitehorse General Hospital. As an advocate for and leader in building a solid health system at the local and national level, James is the past chair of the hospital’s Ethics Committee and past co-chair of HealthcareCAN’s Health HR Advisory Group. He previously served on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Nurses Association, Yukon Registered Nurses Association and Volunteer Bénévoles Yukon.

 

So cozy up, listen in and let your brain go where it needs to go, do what it wants to do. 

You are invited to listen, get curious, and expand your thinking. You share if you feel like it; your presence is a gift.

Tickets

  • Free Ticket

    Join us on November 24th 12:00 MT/15:00AT/14:00 ET/13:00CT/11:00 PT Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89494681124 Meeting ID: 894 9468 1124

    $0.00
    Sale ended

Total

$0.00

Share this event

bottom of page